First Milk Board election results

Following elections on 7 October, Richard Davis and Hugh Parker have been selected by First Milk's local representatives to serve as farmer directors on the First Milk Board, with Mike Gorton being re-elected. Mansel Raymond leaves the First Milk Board as a result of these elections, but remains a local representative for North West Pembrokeshire.

Bedfordshire producer Richard Davis has a 250-acre farm with 110 cows producing one million litres per year. He served as a First Milk director from 2001 until 2008 and is the local representative for East Anglia and the South East. Richard is also a Board Member of DairyCo and a member of the NFU's dairy board.

Hugh Parker farms in a family partnership with wife Maureen and brother John on a part-owned/part tenanted 430-acre unit near Stranraer. His dairy herd produce 1.9 million litres of milk per annum. Since 2003, Hugh has been First Milk's local representative serving the Stranraer area.

Mike Gorton has been re-elected to serve on the Board. Mike was originally elected in May 2009 and is the local representative for Lancashire, Cheshire, North Staffordshire and North Derby.First Milk Chairman Richard Greenhalgh said: "I welcome both Hugh and Richard to the First Milk Board, and congratulate Mike on his re-election. I am sure that they will all play an important role in the future development of the business.

"I would like to thank Mansel for his invaluable contribution to the direction of First Milk over the last eight years. His extensive knowledge of the dairy industry has been a great asset to the business and I wish him well for the future."

Notes to editors:

The other members of First Milk's Board are:

Tom Campbell (farmer director)
Roger Evans (farmer director)
Richard Greenhalgh (chairman)
Peter Humphreys (chief executive)
Beverley Hodson (non-executive director)
Jim Maguire (finance director)
Eric Sanderson (non-executive director)
Richard Twose (farmer director)


For further information, please contact Paul Flanagan, Group communications director, 07767 241452.


7 October 2009